Weather Mommy

Fake Eyelashes and Baby Food

Overnight Clan

on April 25, 2017

Hi to the overnight workers of the world.  Most of the unbleary eyed masses probably won’t cross your path.  The people you see are fellow exhausted shift workers, drunks on the way home from the bar, and occasionally some people heading to the airport.

But I’m there too.

Thanks for saying good morning instead of goodnight.  I really appreciate that!!  Even though most of the world is wrapping up their night, or already asleep, I’m not.  My day is just getting started at 2 AM.

Someone told me once that nothing good happens between midnight at 5AM.  I think it’s true.  I see all kinds of craziness in the middle of the night.  But I also see the nice lady at the gas station, and the woman who sold me an iced tea and a bagel on my way in this morning, and the producers at the station who are in even earlier than me.

Thanks for giving me the look.  That one that says, ‘I get it.’  It’s hard to be awake when everyone else is asleep.  By the time most people wake up, The ‘overnighters’ already been at it for 5+ hours.  By the time you guys are winding down for a nice drink and a show after dinner, WE are practically falling in a heap, trying to keep our eyes open to put the kids to bed.

What we do isn’t easy.  You never get used to it.  You just learn to operate exhausted.  You learn to power through, and pray that you aren’t doing serious harm to your health down the line.

I don’t think there’s a solution.  There’s just, maybe a nap?  


Leave a Reply

